Hello!Project – 2015 singles recap part 1

I know I’ve already published this, but I wasn’t satisfied with the old format of this post, so I modified some things and published it again. Sorry for the inconvenience tumblr_inline_mto62sIH831qid2nw

Morning Musume ’15
Morning Musume has been on a roller coaster this year. Starting only with a decent single, much more disappointing because of the long gap between it and its predecessor than because of the quality of the single itself, the group greeted summer with a well-rounded single and… surprise! Rotating centers! Things seemed to go smoothly, until Sayashi Riho graduation announcement and the big 60th single release, which left a bittersweet taste in my mouth. However, we had pretty good songs throughout the year and I feel satisfied.

58th single – Seishun Kozou ga Naiteiru / Yuugure wa Ameagari / Ima Koko Kara [2015.04.15]
In my opinion, their weakest single of the year, though quite good overall. Seishun Kozou was definitely a grower, while I loved Yuugure from the first listen. Ima Koko Kara was a nice change from the current style.

Seishun Kozou ga Naiteiru
Song: I was not too fond of this at first, but after a few listens I started to really like it. At the very first listen, I was like “what’s this mess supposed to be?” but listening to the studio ver along with the MV gave everything a sense tumblr_m4i9c7j9OB1qdlkyg  8/10

Dance: I like the choreography, I found this formation dance quite impressive. I particularly like the dance break, it’s really cool tumblr_inline_mg16egIXKr1qdlkyg 8.5/10 (gifs by nako-minnadetabeta)

Regular MV: nothing special with this, but I like it because the girls are shining! I love the scenes with fans and umbrellas, they are really charming. If I have to mention a thing that bothered me a bit is that BIG feature of Karin. I mean, I like her and, although a bit disappointing, it’s not a problem she got close-ups as well. But more than regular members? (and in particular 12ki since it was their debut single? Poor Miki) 7.5/10

Another ver. MV: I totally LOVED this one. I wasn’t expecting something like this. It’s so refreshing and different from usual! I like when there are various symbols spread in the video, so that you can give a personal interpretation. And the scenes on the train… simply brilliant! Definitely a 10/10

Outfits: on the regular ver, they are so shiny tumblr_inline_mpl4o4sFS61qz4rgp I’m not too fond of the studs and the “v-neck”, but in general, I like them! As for the alternat ver, we have the outfits used for GMML (nice to see them again, also because I love them!) and some cute school uniforms tumblr_m8fn9dLQWy1r7nk4k 8/10

Overall: 8.4/10

Shining member(s): everyone tumblr_inline_mjs05hMs2K1qdlkyg

Special feature(s): Duu’s kabedon tumblr_inline_mto62vrnv41qid2nw

 

Yuugure wa Ameagari
Song: so beautiful tumblr_inline_mg0q008a5v1qdlkyg I love this genre of songs. The piano intro is really beautiful tumblr_inline_mg0q008a5v1qdlkyg 9/10

Dance: I love this dance tumblr_m8fnasLeXU1r7nk4k  It’s smooth and reminds me of classical ballet. Their harmonious movements make me think of young branches shaken softly by the wind tumblr_inline_mg0q008a5v1qdlkyg 9/10 (gifs by ? and BOOM! Hello!Project)

MV: The girls are so beautiful, but I hate the setting. It’s too simple for my tastes. A different, less plain background with some nice lighting effects would have been good. I like the group shots, but I’m not a fan of those, generally speaking. 7/10

Outfits: Nice concept, but they seem sooo cheap. The outfits they used for the Gradation tour were much better, IMO. 12ki version is slightly better. 6.5/10

Overall: 7.8/10

Shining member(s): Sato Masaki and Ishida Ayumi (it’s a shame she got so few close-ups) (gif by passwordishp)

Special feature(s): Maachan hand gestures during the piano intro and her soothing line right after the dance break. (gif by Hamachin)

 

Ima Koko Kara
Song: it’s cute and uplifting~ really anime-ish. Unfortunately, it isn’t the kind of song that I keep on listening again and again: after a few times, it becomes a bit boring. 8/10

Dance: I like it because it’s cute and easy tumblr_m8jytkduwY1r75lkl 8.5/10

MV: The MV is beautiful, but the anime inserts turn me down a bit. The children dancing with the girls at the end are sooo cute tumblr_m8fn9dLQWy1r7nk4k I like the lighting effects, they go well with the anime theme. The members’ shots are all really beautiful. 8/10

Outfits: Again, I like them. They fit with the theme and overall are the best outfits of this single. I like that each gen has a peculiar version. My favorite version is Sakura’s one, since 10ki style is my favorite one, but I prefer red over green tumblr_m8fn9dLQWy1r7nk4k 9/10

e1423537254587_b01e_1

Overall: 8.3/10

Shining member(s): Oda Sakura, Makino Maria, Sato Masaki and Kudo Haruka! (gifs by BOOM! Hello!Project, vplpro and haru beautiful everyday )

Special feauture(s): I love how Oda was able to shine in this song!

Single overall: 8.1/10

 

59th single – Oh my wish! / Sukatto My Heart / Imasugu Tobikomu Yuuki [2015.08.19]

My favorite Momusu single of the year. Oh my wish! is a favorite of mine for obvious reasons *coughDuucough*, I loved Sukatto My Heart from the first listen and Imasugu is my overall favorite song of the year (although at first I didn’t like it at all tumblr_m4i9c7j9OB1qdlkyg) together with Tsumetai Kaze to Kataomoi.

Oh my wish!
Song: not my favorite at first listen, but it grew on me amazingly! In particular, I like the lines just before the chorus starts, because Duu and Zukki sound really soothing. 9/10

Dance: the dance team made an amazing job! The choreography isn’t a favorite of mine, but the girls are too good to be real tumblr_m4i9c7j9OB1qdlkyg 9.5/10 (gifs by sasayacchan)

MV: I like the setting and the camera work. As I said, I’m not a fan of group shots, but they are fine, I guess. I don’t like the two-shots of Zukki and Duu dancing alone, I think they are a bit off. However, I think the MV suits the theme of the song. The way the dance shots are inserted within the rest is pretty good. I like the solo dance parts too!  9/10

Outfits: I love the white ones~ The style and the looks. It’s something I would wear as well if they weren’t totally white tumblr_m4i9c7j9OB1qdlkyg However, for a single outfit, they are really good! As for the silver ones, I like them but I’m not fond of the pattern. The gowns are pretty, though. 9/10

ohmywish-r

Overall: 9.1/10

Shining member(s): Suzuki Kanon (gifs by BOOM! Hello!Project)

tumblr_ns5hwojott1qh7tjoo1_400 tumblr_ns5hwojott1qh7tjoo9_400

Special feature(s): Haruka and Kanon as centers, obviously!

 

Sukatto My Heart
Song: I love it, so catchy~~ I found it summerish and… refreshing! tumblr_m4i9c7j9OB1qdlkyg I always ended up humming the chorus after listening to it… 9/10

Dance: …and I always end up dancing together with them! tumblr_m89gltpsCe1qdlkyg Again, I find this dance summerish as well! I remember when I was a child and during summer I always kept doing those kind of dances. 9/10 (gifs by ?)


MV: Nice. I don’t particularly like the setting, but there are some pretty shots. For example, the solo shots among the… light fog? I don’t know how to call it haha however, I really liked those shots since every girl was beautiful and charming. The solo shots are good as well, maybe they just follow one another too quickly. 8/10

Outfits: I LOVE THEM tumblr_m89gltpsCe1qdlkyg They surely are the best Morning Musume outfit of the year! With ImaSugu’s ones being a close second. Moreover, I have a thing for sailor themed outfits, so I was sooo delighted when I saw them! 10/10

20150708235314422

Overall: 9/10

Shining member(s): everyone!

Special feature(s): Eripon’s cartwheel! Even more amazing in concerts! (gif by Mini*Wheat)

tumblr_ns98r15qgz1uqoxnzo1_400

 

Imasugu Tobikomu Yuuki
Song: I didn’t like it at all, and then.. I fell in love all of a sudden listening to the studio version together with the MV tumblr_inline_mjs05hMs2K1qdlkyg I love this genre of music because is uplifting and relaxing. I love the bridge! 10/10

Dance: I like it. The formations at the very beginning are amazing! 8/10 (gifs by angelandz)


MV: everyone is shining so much! I love everything about this MV. The lighting, the setting… the blue shots in the fog are breathtaking. And the shots in the cubes are lovely. Sometimes, simple things are the best tumblr_m8fnasLeXU1r7nk4k 10/10 (gifs by veevee-8)


Outfits: so beautiful tumblr_inline_mg0q008a5v1qdlkyg I love everything about them as well. The style is so idolish and girly, and the color and the pattern are enchanting. 10/10

hello_project-566360

Overall: 9.5/10

Shining member(s): Sato Masaki tumblr_inline_mpl4o4sFS61qz4rgp but actually everyone is shining! (gif by veevee-8)

tumblr_nsd8sfw3fk1qj06xdo2_500

Special feature(s): Maachan and Miki as centers!

Single overall: 9.2/10

 

60th single – Tsumetai Kaze to Kataomoi / ENDLESS SKY / One and Only [2015.12.29]

The last single of the year and Riho’s graduation single. I love Tsumetai Kaze to Kataomoi from the bottom of my heart tumblr_inline_mg0q008a5v1qdlkyg ENDLESS SKY has yet to grow on me, but I find it beautiful as well. One and Only is so catchy, you cannot get it off your head!

Tsumetai Kaze to Kataomoi
Song: instant love tumblr_inline_mto62vrnv41qid2nw It got me right in the kokoro tumblr_m4i9c7j9OB1qdlkyg I even made a cover of it~ 10/10

Dance: Riho is too much for my eyes. There are some parts I don’t particularly like but in the end… who cares tumblr_m4i9c7j9OB1qdlkyg Give me Riho dancing and I’m perfectly fine. 10/10 (gifs by haru beautiful everyday and helloprojectgifs)


MV: simple, yet beautiful. The girls are so beautiful and the settings suits the song well. Everyone seem an angel tumblr_inline_mg0q008a5v1qdlkyg 9.5/10

Outfits: I love the black outfits Riho wears. In particular the dress with red inserts. I like the white outfits as well, but I find some of them quite unflattering. 8/10

Overall: 9.3/10

Shining member(s): Sayashi Riho. Everyone else is beautiful as well. (gifs by helloprojectgifs and haru beautiful everyday)

Special feature(s): RihoRiho everywhere tumblr_inline_mjs1ks9CPX1qdlkyg

 

ENDLESS SKY
Song: I’m not impressed by this song by now. And it’s quite painful too, because, besides my crying Haruka (tumblr_m7gk4gyuEK1r86b3d), it brings memories of Riho’s graduation and everyone crying on stage… tumblr_m8jyt4iqGC1r75lkl Ah… I cannot handle it… How is it supposed to be an uplifting song in such conditions? However, it’s not like I hate it and I don’t think it’s an ugly song as well. That autotune on Sakura though… 8/10

Dance: I’m not particularly fond of this one. I find it quite messy, simple and maybe rushed. 6/10 (gif by fyeah-haropro)

tumblr_nzkz9jdipu1qi5qyuo1_500
MV: Haruka made my day. tumblr_inline_mfnjqhRjBa1qdlkyg This is my least favorite MV of this single. I don’t like the shots in blankets, even though the girls are beautiful as always and it’s nice to see them giggle togheter. Solo shots are cute though. I like the idea of the feathers! 7/10

Outfits: I like the concept, but I don’t like some versions, in particular those with the sheer fabrics going beyond the hem of the skirt. I think my favorite version is Haruka’s tumblr_m8fn9dLQWy1r7nk4k 8.5/10

maxresdefault

Overall: 7.3/10

Shining member(s): Ogata Haruna and Kudo Haruka (gifs by ? and BOOM! Hello!Project)

Special feature(s): Haruka crying tumblr_inline_mfnjqhRjBa1qdlkyg

tumblr_nzdf5pjn071qevax2o1_1280

 

One and Only
Song: So. Damn. CATCHY. At first listen it wasn’t exactly my cup of tea, but I cannot stop humming it. It’s great to have a song fully in English, I’m so happy about it and I know the girls worked really hard for that! 8.5/10

Dance: I love it tumblr_m8jytkduwY1r75lkl The steps are quite easy, so I like dancing along with them! 8.5/10 (gifs by angelandz)


MV: the background and the lyrics animation are wonderful, there are a lot of great scenes! Watching the girls smiling and having fun is great! 9/10

Outfits: I have a thing for tartan tumblr_m8fnasLeXU1r7nk4k the white outfits are cute as well! 8.5/10 (gif by angelandz)

Overall: 8.6/10

Shining member(s): Sayashi Riho (gif by fukuchans) and Sato Masaki (gif by nichiyobin)

Special feature(s): The song is in English! tumblr_m4i9c7j9OB1qdlkyg

Single overall: 8.4/10

 

The next part will feature ANGERME singles! Stay tuned!

Hello!Project – 2015 singles recap part 2 – ANGERME
Hello!Project – 2015 singles recap part 3 – °C-ute and Country Girls
Hello!Project – 2015 singles recap part 4 – Juice=Juice, Kobushi Factory, Tsubaki Factory

P.S.: there are still some gifs uncredited. Please make me know if you are the author or if there are any mistakes in crediting.

Melacchan _apple__by_ebonred-d51uswt

 

One thought on “Hello!Project – 2015 singles recap part 1

  1. Pingback: Hello!Project – 2015 singles recap part 2 | Welcome to my blog!

Leave a Reply

