Book Traveling Thursdays – A book I want to read this summer

Here we are again with Book Traveling Thursday, a weekly meme created byDanielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much (check out the Goodreads group!).

This week’s theme is a book I want to read this summer!

I don’t usually have a TBR so it was pretty difficult to choose a book completely at random. I’m currently re-reading Gone with the Wind, but since I’ve already started it and it’s a re-read I didn’t want to talk about it. So, I was browsing some lists on Goodreads and I stumbled upon The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. Ah, beautiful memories. But, surprise! A fifth book was released in 2011 and I didn’t know anything about that!

I don’t really know what to expect from this book. I want to pick it up mostly because I hate having anything incomplete. Then, there’s the emotional tie with the characters – I really enjoyed reading about their summers back then, so I’m so curious of what they are doing 10 years later. Lastly, I think this goes well with what I’m experiencing recently with my friends. It’s only been a year since we graduated from high school, but we’ve already started to deal with important changes; so, I don’t know, I hope to find some ideas or… methods? to keep our friendship for a long time.

Well, I think I rambled way too much. Let’s see some covers!

ORIGINAL COVER:

9461872

I don’t really know how the original covers for the first part of the series were, but this cover is a big change from what I was used to (a pair of jeans dominating the cover, bright colors and funny font for the title). However, that doesn’t mean I don’t like it. I find it beautiful neverthless. I really like the concept and it does give it a more mature feel. There are some annoying commercial (?) sentences here and there that I usually associate with low quality novels, but overall I like it.

COVER FROM MY COUNTRY (ITALY):

arton37524

Well, this is the exact copy of the original one, and I’m glad it is! As I said, this cover is visually appealing and I hope to find it soon in a bookshop because I absolutely want a physical copy!

 

FAVORITE COVER:

19537326

Australia

If there’s something I don’t like about the original cover are those annoying sentences I talked about. I really like this cover because the cover is clean and I prefer the fonts used too (I love rounded fonts, and the title is similar to handwriting so it’s a plus). I don’t know if it’s only the digital image or if the cover is actually like that, but the colors seem brighter than the original ones. The only thing I don’t really like is the bigger size of the name of the author, I usually prefer a bigger title. Or I’m simply used to that kind of covers. Still, it’s beautiful.

LEAST FAVORITE COVER:

24677950

Germany (I think)

I have to go with this one. This is more similar to the cover of the Sisterhood I’m used to, but this bright red is really unappealing. And the contrast with the bright blue doesn’t help. And the pants, why are they so… well… “full of stuff”? On the positive side, If I saw this book in a book store, I would associate it immediately with the Sisterhood. But other than that… nah.

This BTT is a bit on the boring side, with 3 out of 4 covers almost identical. The other covers I saw were pretty, but not my favorite, so I decided not to include them tumblr_inline_mto62sIH831qid2nw I hope you enjoyed reading this post neverthless!

_apple__by_ebonred-d51uswt

 

2 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays – A book I want to read this summer

  1. Oh, I never finished this series. I plan to do it one day. I’m also used to seeing the pants cover, but this one is awful, that red is so annoying! And it’s got two different titles, it’s so terrible. First it says in blue one for 4, as in one pair of pants for the 4 girls, and then Forever and Ever in white. I was just at another post commenting on how Germany is fond of changing the titles and I usually hate them 😛

    My BTT

    Like

Leave a Reply

