Manga Classics: Les Misérables – A Review

41463503. sx318

Note: I received an eARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

I have yet to reach for the original novel, but Les Misérables is something I’ve wanted to try reading for a long time. I’ve never watched or read any other type of adaptation either, because I wanted to read that massive novel without knowing too much about the plot. HOWEVER. The moment I saw that book cover pop up in my Netgalley feed I was sold. I had to try this out. And I loved every single page. I almost started reading the original novel right after finishing the manga.

I find the art to be absolutely lovely, I like how polished it is and let’s be honest, without that beautiful Cosette on the cover I might have overlooked this title as I had other plans.
I cannot judge how close this manga is to the original story, as I’ve yet to read it, but something I usually feel while reading adaptations instead of the original version is a certain dullness, the feeling you’re just touching the surface of the story and not going deeper. So I want to praise this adaptation because it actually impacted me in a profound way, and while I know it’s not possible to adapt a 1400+ pages novel in a 337 pages manga without leaving out parts of it, I found myself emotionally involved in the story as I was reading. Overall it’s been a very positive experience for me.

My rating: 4.5/5 stars

Leave a comment